Not My Pond....

Not only is the grass greener on the other side of the fence, they have a pond over there too! I do get to enjoy their pond though as it is right behind the fence where I often sit in my Muskoka chairs .. I get to hear that lovely sound of trickling water - without the work involved in  maintaining a garden water feature! It is almost like having my own pond..

Speaking of the people who live on the other side of the fence...in that lovely heritage home with the charming wraparound porch with its corner gazebo.... they invited us neighbours over for lunch today on said porch... (in extra)  How neat is that? We had a lovely afternoon of interesting conversation and fabulous food! 

We had been invited to the house several times over the years by the former owners, who used to host evening concerts for friends and neighbours, and opened the house for tours to support community projects..We really miss them but could not be happier with the folks who have replaced them and who have become an important part of our neighbourhood...

The house is of special interest to my gardener E as it is part of his family history. His grandfather owned the house long long ago and his parents also lived there for a while before they moved into the house next to mine..for E, the house holds some great childhood memories... The house has seen many changes over the years, most of them to restore it to its former self...It has an interesting history and, apparently a resident ghost...Thankfully, no ghostly appearances were made during lunch today....

So a day that began at the hospital with yet another yucky CTscan, was saved by a lovely lunch with friends and neighbours... and tomorrow I head north! Yay! Tomorrow I may actually be able to post a Georgian Bay sunset! 

Of course, today, I had to take even more photos of my garden-in-progress as I wanted to compare them with what I will see when I return... I am expecting mulch.... E has promised mulch. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.