Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Bears' Breeches

More politely known as Acanthus mollis (acanthus meaning thistle). So not your prickly Scots thistle more commonly seen around here. These are in the National Trust garden in Melrose, a huge clump of them. I've tried, and failed, to grow them. I also fail to understand why they are commonly known as bears' breeches ... I read the Wiki entry and am none the wiser. 

I did know that the capitol of the Corinthian column is based on the acanthus plant, but I don't see that much resemblance to this. Maybe it's yet another kind of thistle.

We were here, enjoying an ice cream in the garden, in the sudden sunshine and heat, after food shopping for our weekend visitors. Now I must go and bake a cake ...

I'm becoming a lapsed blipper - must try harder!!!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.