Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Tideforce

It's a wet night in Dunoon; it's been raining since about 4pm, steadily and very wetly. And we've just been shown a new map by the BBC - the entire British Isles by rainfall for July. Dark red almost black - London and the SE. Paler shades of red variegated just about everywhere else - except for the very West of Scotland and the northern isles as well. We were white. (Except for Arran, where I believe there have been drought issues). So unless you live in Western Scotland, gonnae no go on about your heatwaves, cos we've not had one! (I reckon we had maybe 2 consecutive days ...)

Actually today wasn't all gloom. Annoyingly the sun woke me quite early, shining into my face from somewhere above the mid-skyline in today's blip. By the time I'd finished my tea and scraped myself together it was uniformly cloudy, though we had a couple of hours of bright sun after lunch. I'm glad we went outside at that point, and equally glad I took my (dry) washing in early.

On the sore back front (I like that!) I saw one of our GPs today: he thinks I've perhaps squished a nerve (sic) in my back while sitting in a less-than-comfy-restaurant. Apparently nerves can take 4-6 weeks before the damaged bit regenerates. I'm not exactly dancing on the spot, but ...

Dinner was a triumph of invention, though I'm probably not the person to claim that. But cold chicken, Spanish-style rice, with leftover broccoli stir-fried with some spinach and the end of a jar of ginger, garlic and chilli sauce - thrown together in 20 minutes - I reckon was delicious enough for me to gloat. 

I had a very limited choice of photos for today's blip, having taken only two - the miserable play park in the rain of the afternoon, or this one, of RFA Tideforce slipping down the Firth with her attendant tugs this morning. I decided on this one because of the clouds and the remarkable outlines of a modern naval ship. And I'm sorry - it's yet again a hinging-out-of-the-window job. Don't all yawn at once ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.