White flowers in the gloaming

I got back quite late from London so did a little watering but the rest will have to wait until the morning. 

There seems to be a bit of a backlash against white flowers as having a deadening effect in a mixed bed but I still love them, particularly around the house when you can see them glow in the evening.  It makes me think of a passage in Sons and Lovers when Mrs Morel is shut out of the house by her husband and she’s consoled by the white flowers that shimmer in the dark. I haven’t read it for years but I remember the description of the white phlox even now. The effect is ghostly and slightly unnerving. Will have to go and look it up! 

Anyway - this white agapanthus gave me ONE flower last year and EIGHT this year so it’s a winner!

Much cooler and fresher today but still bone dry 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.