Hurrah, hurrah! I don't need to trail round any more charity shops for clothes! I made a list this morning of the shops I didn't get to yesterday and put them into a sensible route, then decided to fortify myself with coffee first. And while I was drinking it to dig out the bin-bags, boxes, big-bag-on-wheels and suitcase into which I packed clothes when I moved 2½ years ago, some of which have been part unpacked since and some of which are untouched other than to cart them from a pile in my house to a pile in my temporary attic. Then I got out the bags and boxes into which I stuffed clothes when I hurriedly moved here seven weeks ago. All out, all at once. A mess but it meant I found enough things without holes that'll do for going to work. I assembled my scarves from four different sources and was delighted to meet some of them again. I found my emergency dress for winter invitations that I don't really want to accept and my emergency dress for summer invitations that I don't really want to accept.

I also discovered that the suitcase (an absolutely giant one I bought 15 years ago to take books to a book fair in Uppsala) didn't contain clothes but duvets. I'd wondered where those were. With books in it needed a fork lift truck to move it; with clothes it was almost as bad, so whenever I replaced them with duvets was a forgotten moment of sanity.

I found the trousers I got from Barnado's when I was asked to go back to work a year ago.

I found my concert skirt which I might need in December and my interview skirt which I hope I'll never need again (anyway, I got the job-that-starts-on-Monday wearing trousers).

I didn't find my blue skirt with bike-chain-oil stains on. Maybe I sensibly got rid of it.

I put my motorbike jacket along with a few other bits of sentimentality back into the box they came out of and hung the rest on the clothes rail outside my attic door.

As well as rewarding myself by not going shopping, I had a swim in the lake then an evening walk with a friend to a pub on the towpath. I was seduced into taking shots of the low full moon on the way back but nothing is as good as the real thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.