My Year in Pictures

By jenny

Potting

Had the most fabulous fun day with Penny at her studio in Whitchurch.

The morning was spent learning how to throw pots in stoneware and then in the afternoon it was hand building with porcelain.

Managed to throw three pots though was most frustrated I could only seem to make the one shape! And interestingly the person beside me was the same - but with the shape I wanted to achieve. And he wanted to make one like mine! We both really struggled to get our hands to 'work' in a different way but had a lot of fun trying!

Thought the hand building would be easier than throwing, but boy was I wrong. Rolling out porcelain to a thin even layer in the heat was not so simple! And on my first attempt I only ended up decorating it the wrong way round! Here's hoping take 2 (extra) survives in the kiln! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.