Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Pleasant valley Sunday

Lazy morning, tidied up a bit, (including my shoe cupboard, on the way discovering summer sandals I'd long forgotten about. Hurrah!)

I went for a leisurely walk, ended up at a record shop that had a sale on (not good for someone with a weakness for CD sales) and whilst my nose was pressed between the CD's 'with a yellow sticker' I noticed an sms had come in. At the same time I also noticed that I'd missed one that had been sent to me two hours earlier......

I read the second one first (not a good idea): 'so, we'll be at the abbey in 30 minutes, see you there!' Erm... time to read the first one.
In short, Regine and Bhanu were cycling to the La Trappe abbey down the road from my home. Not wanting to be unsociable (heaven forbid!), I cycled down to meet them.

We sat outside in the sunshine, and tried (for the sake of research you understand....) one or two beers (*cough*), ate some delicious cheese and had a laugh.

Cycling back, I left them (literally) at a crossroads, squabbling like a married couple about which route they were going to take back to Breda :)

Rounding the corner to my street, where the cars are parked double (because they can, that's why!), seeing the men standing around in shiny track suits, drinking beer out of bottles, enjoying the sunshine, I knew I was home. And now, for a second Monkees earworm.

Here are some photos I took on the way, of some abandoned factories.

This link is specially for Regine and Bhanu :)

Have a good evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.