RetroPHit

By ArachneToo

Bricks

When I moved in to my house I brought with me a lot of unused, hundred-year-old bricks. The architect and I have spent hours and hours thinking about possible designs to use them.

When the builders' estimate came in at twice what I'd borrowed to build the house, absolutely everything was cut back to basics. Structure only, no kitchen, no bathroom and certainly no fancy brickwork. But my bricks were still to be used for the back wall of the house and two months ago I showed the builders the stacks at the back of the garden. Note this single brick carefully placed on the top.

On Wednesday evening this week, when I went over my neighbours' wall into the garden to harvest the very last of the lettuces, I happened to see a pile of my bricks by the house, ready to be built into an interior wall that no-one will ever see. So very early on Thursday morning I WhatsApped the building firm to ask the manager to save my bricks for the back wall. They know that I am a bit odd and they quickly and politely agreed - the architect hadn't told them anything about the plans for the bricks other than that they were to be used for the build. 

One of the bricks that had been moved, predictably, since it was on the top of the pile, was this very beautiful one (yes, I'm odd, and I'm sorry but this is a picture taken two years ago, not today) that I want at eye-level. I couldn't see it anywhere and told the builders that I would come in and try to find it at the weekend - today. They have put all my bricks back in the pile where they were but loads of other things have been stashed on top and there was no chance of me finding my special brick. I gave up after a few minutes. 

I copied all the WhatsApp correspondence to the architect in an email on Thursday and have heard nothing from them since. Have they given up on me or are they in the process of going under?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.