Today's Special

By Connections

Other Worlds

No matter where I go, it's the tiny details of my surroundings that I find most fascinating. Phil and I took our first walk at Scudder Pond Nature Preserve today, a familiar location for followers of ArtistAnnie -- and indeed, we ran into her there as we were leaving the park, and had an enjoyable chat.

I think these beauties are buds of the native Nootka Rose; I relish their rich red velvet coverings and all those delightful red fringes, found even on the leaf edges. Their color caught my eye, but my little camera caught the details I couldn't see, such as that gleaming water droplet on the middle bud.

There is so much going on around us that we never see; I'm grateful for an excuse to stop now and then and look more closely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.