Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

The Addington Water Tower

I’ve been trying to get a full shot of the tower ever since I first blipped in April 2019. This is the nearest I have managed to get.


Here is a repeat of my earlier write-up- This tower was built in 1883 to supply pressurised water to the railway workshops. It was one of the earliest reinforced concrete structures in the world. Part of its design included earthquake protection, which was very effective during the Christchurch earthquakes.


For years after the workshops closed it stood alone and neglected in a vacant lot littered with old iron. Whenever I passed it made me feel sad. Now it is listed as a Category 1 Historic Place, and it has the Christchurch Railway Station and a shopping centre for neighbours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.