Sebulon

By sebrose

Folkwang museum

Megan and I take the metro to the Folkwang museum for our dose of culture. There’s this entertaining video wall at the entrance that projects your entrance into the museum, but updates the display progressively from top to bottom. The end result is wacky.

We start at the expressionist exhibition, which is excellent. There are just so many paintings - Kandinsky, Dali, Picasso, Matisse and many many more. It was overwhelming.

To recover, we went for lunch. A very passable tofu curry at a nearby Vietnamese restaurant - although Megan baulked at the fizzy water that we ordered by mistake.

Then back to the Folkwang for their permanent exhibition. There were another 24 rooms, with lots of interesting paintings and sculptures. I’m pretty sure my culture capacity has already been exceeded, but I have plenty of photos to look back over.

Back at the Airbnb, Megan packs. We’re ready for a nap, but she has to check into her hotel and go out networking with other graduates.

The hotel is only five minutes from the Airbnb. It takes longer for them to check her in than it took to walk there. I drop her bag in the room and an about to leave when Angus calls. Brother and sister have a short chat and then it’s time for me to leave.

Later, I have a salad at Nord and realise that Megan and her new colleagues are sitting around a table behind me. I keep my head low - no need to advertise my presence - and continue re-reading The Short Reign of Pippin IV.

Somehow I find the energy to stay awake long enough to watch “Starter For 10”. I probably shouldn’t have

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.