Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Bembridge Lifeboat Station, Isle of Wight

Thursday, 15 Sep

After a damp and grey morning the sun finally came out this afternoon. I drove over to the town of Ryde and went to my favourite cafe and chocolate shop - The Chocolate Apothecary. I had a chilli hot chocolate and a warm ginger cake - both of which I’ve had before! (See Extra photo). I also watched the hovercraft come in from Portsmouth, and then head out again later. I wandered around the shops a bit too. There were many storefront displays dedicated to the Queen. I particularly liked the one at the front of a vintage shop. Very tastefully done.

I then drove to Bembridge and walked along the beach for awhile. I walked out the pier to the lifeboat station. It is open to the public but I was there after it closed. It was a beautiful evening and I enjoyed watching the boats go by. There’s no sunset as such, since Bembridge faces east. I did bring a flask of tea and a sandwich to enjoy on the beach. I made it a marmalade sandwich in honour of the Queen!  See the second Extra which also shows a beautiful painted wall which was behind me!

I’m catching up with my blips from my week on the Isle of Wight. Feel free to scroll back if you wish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.