Sebulon

By sebrose

Viaduct

It’s a very wet day. I hunker down in the Cowshed, which is just as well, because by mid morning there’s a leak from the skylight. Tom comes to inspect - and will fix at some point.

The rain stops, as forecast, early afternoon. I load my road bike into the car and drive to Peebles. Where I catch the bus to Gala. The cycle to Earlston is gorgeous. The sun is setting, the air is crisp. It’s a lot further than I thought and I arrive, sweaty, at Kerry’s at half six.

We eat a hurried pasta, courgette, and pesto supper before jumping a bus back to Gala. We bump into a couple of random (Mick and Claire) down from Edinburgh looking for the Macarts venue and lead them a merry goose chase to the wrong church. And then we arrive, support band thrashing loud metal, the venue at capacity - literally bursting.

Hayseed Dixie (extra) come on at 8:30 as advertised. They’re excellent musicians and really entertaining as well. The lead singer/guitarist tells us that, back in the day, Ed Sheeran was their support act. Now, living in Germany, with two young daughters who think he plays “grandfather” rock, he desperately wants them to think he’s cool. When Ed was playing a sold out gig at a local stadium, he called saying “I don’t want to be that guy, but any chance you could get us some tickets?” Front row seats. Dad is cool again.

Charlie’s pal gives us a lift home. I am exposed to chips with curry sauce for the first time. Surprisingly, they are first doused in salt and vinegar. Not bad. Not great, but not bad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.