N-n-n-n-nineteen Nineteen

Well nineteen and a day!

I am officially in my last year of parenting a teenager. It's been a labour of love, but hard work! From the child that tried to be born two months early, to the child that was delivered a month premature with the very short cord wrapped round her neck and breathing problems who was whisked away by helicopter. She survived that and the older brother from hell to become a college student. Phew!

It has been hard for her being away from home on her birthday. OK hard for me :) I ordered her a cake but the nitwits delivered it last Friday instead of yesterday. After I complained they sent her a second one that arrived on time. However her "Big" surprised her with a cake at midnight, so 3 Cake Kate fobbed my second cake off on other people on her dorm floor, LOL.

Today we went to UMBC to take her out for lunch. Originally we had planned to spend the afternoon with her at the Inner Harbour in Baltimore, but she got a better offer - being the "date" of Robotic Boy at his Fraternity Formal in Ocean City. Sound fishy to you? Yeah, me too!

So we went to Ruby Tuesdays. Tom and I had a surprisingly good lunch. Kate who was "starving" ordered a medium burger which came rare, and after a few nibbles she decided it was too rare (it was) and complained. The manager agreed and said he would make her a fresh one. It took a while so he brought her more fries. She decided she was no longer hungry so I asked them to box the burger when it was ready, thinking she could either eat it later or fob it off on some starving student. Burger duly arrived boxed and removed from the bill, and while I was talking to Tom about our plans later, I felt something hot, wet and burgery on my foot, yikes! Somehow the burger had escaped the box while she was trying to put fries in.... We scooped the burger and bun off the floor back into the box, left the fixings for the next unlucky patron to step in, wiped the mayo, tomato and lettuce off my foot as best we could, and left.

So while 2 Burger 3 Cake Kate might be 19, she will never be grown up!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.