freshphoto:a moment a day

By freshphoto

Big boy little boy

Couldn't resist this.

I had just spent a fun but damp time following a family of mallard ducklings up and down the river, trying to catch some of their antics. I've got a very old, slow, battered and now very 'soft' 300mm lens, so it's not really up to the 'action sports' job of freezing eleven (down from 14 sadly) jet-propelled chicks as they aquaplane manically about, but I did get a few OK shots. In typical blip fashion though, as I headed home I spotted this scene and it pipped the ducklings to the post.

You may see the ducks another day, because they are still at the uber-fluffy stage. The mother is so devoted - she marched up to a crow that the babies had bumbled a bit too close to and gave him a piece of her mind. No doubt the father duck was off tinkering with something somewhere...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.