The Sundial At The Botanics

does not work without sun, naturally enough. This particular sundial is by Ian Hamilton Finlay who created Little Sparta.

Our Visit To Little Sparta.

Today was a very wet day and the journey to Edinburgh was fairly hazardous in terms of surface water. Large articulated lorries propel much of the water into the air where it tends to hang about.

I deposited Pat at the Scottish Arts Club and returned to the Royal Botanical Gardens carrying my large tartan golf umbrella.  Actually, the first time I have used it.

The gardens were quiet with very few people walking around. The gardeners were busy and appear to be waterproof. The robot mowers were sitting in their docking stations.

The rain was very little and I took quite a number of photos. I was on a sculpture hunt and found several more. The autumn colours were quite vibrant as the extra shows.

We had lunch with friends at L’etoile Salon de Tea in the West Port which was very acceptable, especially for Coeliacs. And of course, very French management who were great fun.

Our friends invited us back to view their almost completed extension. This has not been a great experience for them and they have a lot of complaints about their architect and the contractor.

I kept my thoughts to myself as did Pat. We wished them well in rectifying all the ‘snags’.

We made our way back home. The return journey was much less fraught than the morning drive to Edinburgh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.