Last Harvest…

…of "Outdoor Girl".  
She cropped fairly well, but, due to possibly late planting not too many ripened.  If I do the same next year I'll try to bung em in earlier.

At just a tad over 500g it's way short of the 2.5 kg needed for the 1st/only Chutney recipe I found, so I may try a microbrew.

Squeaking of Chutney, one thing I'm not sure of is whether it's males, or the services in general - Military, Police, Fire, Ambulance, etc. we're fair-to-middlin good at allocating nicknames.  I've had a few in my time, but I think the speediest was about 5 nanoseconds after stepping onto Penrith Fire Station when I became "Marty" Kane.  I never did find out how "Pinky" Green got his pseudonym.

However - it's about Chut(ney). As long as I knew him Bill Robin was known universally as A. D. O. Chut.  His rank was A. D. O. - BUT - when he was a lowly Ldg. Fm. he got a glut of Tomatoes, some/many never did ripen - SO - he would make Chutney.  Fair enough - except - he chose to make it during Stand-down on Station.  Legend has it you could smell Chutney for WEEKS after. 
Whence cometh the nickname.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.