Woman and Child

This is a statue that was erected about five years ago to commemorate all the fishermen from Pittenweem who have been lost at sea. It is a fisherman’s wife and child gazing out to sea hoping to see her husbands boat returning.

We didn’t leave the house until after lunchtime today. I had a really rough night and felt washed out this morning, so I took things easy this morning. In the afternoon we walked down to the shore to meet Janice at her late sister’s house. I’m going to help her clear the house. I know from clearing so many family homes what a difficult task it is, with so many memories being attached to things. There are so few auction houses around here nowadays, but I know a local woman who used to be an antique dealer, so I’m hoping she will come along to give us some guidance.
On the way home we stopped at John’s Sweetie shop. He mentioned a few days ago that he was struggling to get rid of the last of the ice cream, because there are so few tourists around at the moment. He closes the shop for the winter in a couple of weeks. I took with me a large container and he kindly filled it with a selection of cherry ripple, salted caramel, and Nutella ice cream. He threw in a large bag of wafers too. That should keep me going for a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.