FoundWanting

By FoundWanting

Comfort in the presence of war

Needed time out from myself today. The Flugwerft Schleißheim museum and surrounds in Oberschleißheim provided promising sanctuary.
All I needed to do was make the time free of duties (real or imagined), leave the leaden sack of self-fabricated guilt and anxiety at the house door and just go.
It took a while. A walk, a train ride, a bus ride, another walk in the warm autumn sun with stops to photograph abstract images, but I eventually managed to offload more than usual by the time I reached the door of the museum. Once inside this warm cocoon the sight of the flying machines and the redolence of petroleum based aviation lubricants eased the larger anxieties from my mind.
Not many people there just after opening, so it was nice to wander around unhindered by the presence of other seekers of a sensation.
With the lack of people distraction and the convenient placement of comfortable old school aircraft seats the length of the mezzanine floor overlooking the displays in the main hanger; this allowed me to set up office next to a sun side window and write a semi-coherent entry in my excuse of a diary. Many of the entries in my diary fail to achieve catharsis, today’s entry did.
Thankfully the meeting of a little bit of effort, time, place and medications provided a pleasant and productive period in the day today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.