Spontaneous artwork

It's been a gorgeous winters day on Öland. -4 degrees, completely still and bright sunshine from a cloud-free sky (from eight till three thirty). I went along with three women friends to a Caf'é on the east side of the island where they serve homemade cakes, huge sandwiches, coffee and have a lot of sweets and many nice things to look at in the shop. Years ago this café was a normal countryside store where you could find anything you would ever need plus a whole lot more. The new owners kept the look of the store but put their own things in, plus the café itself. A marvellous place. Go there if you visit my island.

After that there was no need for lunch but a long walk, where I came upon some nicely designed puddles that would work in any art gallery. Apart from the bubbles and the black water, notice the tiny lines from thin grass outlining the snow in the foreground. Amazing.

A new student came today, a guy who has big problem with sudden anxiety attacks which sometimes makes him afraid to go out and his self esteem and confidence is obviously shifting between low and none existing. He wants do develop his playing and I can tell that he knows a lot more than he told me but haven't got a clue what anything is called and can't follow a conversation where music words are used. Normally I start with him showing me something of his choice which he feels reasonably secure playing, given the situation with me listening. Usually there is a lot I can use for giving positive feedback and we will work from there. We'll meet a couple of times before Christmas, after that he will probably have an idea if he thinks I can help him, guiding him into new paths to follow in his playing and singing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.