FoundWanting

By FoundWanting

Immersive experience

Trudged into the snow bound cityscape to visit the Viva Frida Kahlo - Immersive Experience this morning. I thought it would be a quiet time to attend. I haven’t been to this type of "immersive experience" before. Previous immersive experiences have been the unfortunate results of misidentifying mushrooms or medications …

I do admire Frida Kahlo, especially the way she lived her life and presented it to the world. I took a good eighteen months to read Hayden Herrera’s biography of Frida; a big book wiv big words and sum pickturs.
I like the subjects and colours of her paintings, and I understand they are drenched in symbolism. I’m just rubbish at remembering what that symbolism is, for most of her paintings. The "experience" did help to put Frida’s life events, people and paintings into context.

In my own anti social and misanthropic way I sat out of the way in a corner of the stage in today’s image. People entering the stage stalled in front of me disoriented and distracted by the show, ignoring the baldy old English tramp slumped on the floor whose immersive experience they were spoiling.

I wonder about these immersive experiences. I see their attraction and I suppose they provide  contemporary multimedial entertainment value, as opposed the age old personal and static gallery experience which I selfishly prefer … bar the addition of tomato soup or mashed potato as is the activist fashion at art exhibitions these days.
I can only compare today’s experience to swimming in a relatively packed public swimming pool. People immersed in their own fluid experience getting in the way of another person’s fluid experience. Although, I think this could just be Munich behaviour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.