A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Christmas cat

A busy day.
Got the ironing out of the way first and then started on a chicken and cranberry casserole to take with us to Bath tomorrow. To make the best use of the oven I made some sunflower crunch too for son Alex who was coming around with presents later.
Just nicely got all that in the oven and walking into the dining room this spontaneous blip presented itself. Bluebell seems to like the table with a cloth on and she’d found a bit of sun too.
I’d been at the top of the garden earlier and seen very tiny signs of the yellow flowers on the Hamemelis but I will leave those to blip when we get back.
Had a cuppa with Alex when he called and made myself a bit of lunch from the very little remaining in the fridge. Christmas is always the same, masses of food but non to eat, yet!

Then I tackled the packing, went in better than I thought. I always take just the same small bag for the train but with two of us going for more than a week, winter weather and the extremes of theatre visits and muddy walks I felt the need to take more than usual.

So you have a Christmas cat today with my very ancient Advent crown brought from Germany by a friend many years ago. The original candles have long since been burned and the ones in now are just decorative so I add a candle in the middle to burn when we are at the table. Bluebell will be ably looked after by our son and our very good neighbour whilst we’re away she may even be marginally happier than if the children were coming here! She will eventually get used to them.

Having a relax with a cuppa now and eating some of the misshapes/ends of the crunch. Out for a pre Christmas drink with friends soon and Alex will join us as he’s taking a couple of days of his unused holiday before the end of the year. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.