Still Flooding

When Ann went out for her 'big' walk this morning I had a more leisurely stroll down the street to the riverside.  The water was lapping the tarmac of the road but as Ann said, it would take a tsunami to take it up as far as our house!  I had a wander round and took some pictures of the swans, river and marina.  I had to stay at our side of the marina as the paths and bridges were under water.  I could have walked the long way round but I'll save that for another day.  Luckily there are large, strong lock gates between the river and the canal so the canal water stays at its normal level.

After lunch we ventured out for a coffee at Piano Cafe, the town was quiet, the cafe even quieter.

The footpath on the other side of the river has now been submerged and Chapter Meadows is now one large lake.

(This picture is especially for 60plus who I think has a thing for gates!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.