We took it home!

I have wanted a grindstone for many years but never found the perfect one. They are very cumbersome and I never could find a use or place for one, Well, today we were antiquing and hubby spotted this stone made into an outdoor table. I thought it checked all the boxes so we bought it! I really enjoy the hunt for a treasure. I'm sure I will spend hours wondering about the man who worked so hard using this stone. 
The extra is another thing I would have liked to take home but I just took the shot and walked away pleased to have the stone!
grindstone, also known as grinding stone, is a sharpening stone used for grinding or sharpening ferrous tools, used since ancient times. Tools are sharpened by the stone's abrasive qualities that remove material from the tool through friction in order to create a fine edge.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.