Gardening companion

Spent another two and a half hours cutting back the years' overgrown dog rose inherited in our front garden, my second session on the project of taming the thing. I only stopped when it began to rain, and I reckon I'm now about halfway there. Only one facial whiplash this time, but cut to the blood on the backs of my hands, even through my thickest gardening gloves. I love wild roses along rural hedgerows, but I really don't think they're suitable for gardens. 

However, I had this robin keeping me company and cheerfully singing for much of the time. Of course, he stopped when I popped in for my camera. I've given him an arty 'dry brush' filter on Photoshop.

Our green bin is now full of viciously prickly rose loppings. It's only emptied monthly from now until April, but I think I'll be able to tread it down before the March collection. Then I can carry on filling it with more of the same. The dead wood cuttings can be burnt when the wind is in the right direction. 

It's going to be rainy for the next few days, I believe, and very windy, too, by Friday. Perhaps it'll be time for another jigsaw and/or knitting, of course!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.