Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Blackthorn winter

Although the weather's cold and grey, spring is underway at Swaddywell, with Cherry-plum, Blackthorn and Goat Willow all coming into flower. The flowering of the Blackthorn often coincides with a spell of unusually cold weather, known as the 'Blackthorn Winter' and the forecast suggests that snow and ice will be widespread in the UK next week. But at least there will be plenty of flowers for early bees and hoverflies when the warm spring sunshine eventually encourages them to emerge.


Yesterday I had some very good news! After my disappointment regarding cancellation of the May trip to the Cevennes, I've now been asked if I can help out on a Wildlife Travel trip to Cyprus, leaving on the 22nd March!! I spent much of yesterday afternoon re-arranging diary dates as I really didn't want to miss the opportunity. Now I've just got to keep my head down to finish the most urgent reports before I leave...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.