Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Of Mothers and Spring moments

When I was a child, we didn't make much of Mothering Sunday (or Mothers' Day, if you insist) and I wasn't aware of any of my friends doing so either. Only when I was an adult with children of my own did I think of acknowledging the day - I remember I once used the computer in my classroom to create a small book of my own poems and sent it to my mother, who was totally surprised as she didn't know I had written any. Be that as it may, my two chaps are great at sending me lovely things - I've already eaten half of the chocolates that came earlier in the week, and this morning the door bell went when I was clearing up breakfast and I had my photo taken in my blue furry dressing-gown as proof of delivery - and all that before church! 

Church was a good place to be this morning - for some reason we were extremely hilarious after the service, which is usually a sign that everything has been good about our experience in the past hour. And I sang a hymn at the communion that I'd never seen before yesterday, a John Bell/Graeme Maule piece with good words and a very catchy tune, and people liked it. I got reading too, because the sub-organist had been supposed to read but was away playing in another church so that she can stand in here when we want to go away another day ... Oh, forget it. Too complicated by half!

After lunch ... whisper it not ... the weather seduced me out into the garden to prune the roses. It didn't last - the sun soon went and was gradually replaced by thickening cloud and then rain - but I managed to cut back all the rosa rugosa that were already sprouting mad shoots of green as well as proper pruning of the more civilised roses. The front lot will have to wait. The tip, however, was closing just as Himself arrived with a boot-load of cuttings, so they're reposing overnight in the car. Hope there were no beasties ... 

Blipping the graveyard with some daffs and crocuses just because it was a glorious, spring-like moment with sunshine and birdsong and made me feel happy.

The curry, by the way, was excellent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.