Whizz

Clocks went forward…..so fabulous to have longer days (was light til after 7.30pm). Meant I was up pretty early to go and collect T from the airport. Unlike last time he wasn’t early - turned out someone wanted to get off just before takeoff and they’d had to return to the gate and unpack her luggage (!) but by then he was already asleep (he’d been at work all night) so couldn’t text to let me know. Once he arrived he went to bed for another couple of hours and I walked down to town in glorious sunshine (although chilly!) to return one of the jumpers I’d bought on Friday….it was too big, I doubt I’d get enough wear out of it. Once he woke we had bacon rolls before going for a walk in Dalkeith country park. A stroll through the woods by the fast flowing river (which seems to have gathered a lot of debris from a recent flood), then tried to do the ancient woods walk but it’s stil fenced off half way round - wish they’d put that on the map near the shops!
Anyway, as we were on that aborted walk we saw. ‘Go Ape’ course of walkways and zip wires through the trees and it looked fun. I’d been telling T about Munroist’s adventures in Costa Rica as we were talking about future holidays and it spurred us to eschew the cafe with its lure of cake and instead have a go on the trail. All went fine till we got up there and I nearly froze! My feet went like lead and I couldn’t move…the only thing getting me moving again was the fact that I didn’t want to ruin the day for the people behind me!
After the first one I loved the zip wires though, but swapping feet between wires whilst getting around ropes high up in the trees was tough…..I ended up just doing one of the trails! T did another 3 - much quicker when he didn’t have to coax and wait for me! - and it started to drizzle/snow as he finished so we timed it well. Great fun all round despite the scares!
Home and he had another, shorter, sleep whilst I had a reviving cup of tea then we went to the pub for an enormous pile of nachos (extra) and chat about his recent trip to Cheltenham races with his mate D, making photo albums and losing digital photos.
Home to watch a BakeOff episode and a daft programme about choosing temptations vs winning large amounts of money which got us talking about group dynamics, value of money, camping and temptation more generally. Bed by 10….I don’t know how he manages working at nights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.