A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

Levelling Up

Karate grading tonight and I moved on from Green to Blue (5th Kyu - the Kyu numbers go down until 1st Kyu brown. then the first black at 1st Dan and the numbers go up again).

This is my third karate tradition and I'm recycling the old belts which is why it's looking a little worn at the edges.  Generally, there is nothing more useless than a previous karate belt.

I was slightly taken aback to discover, when filing the certificate, that it's 19 years since I first graded blue.  I really ought to have got the hang of it by now...

--
Traditionally, you only have one belt, initially white, then dye it the different colours as you progress - which is why the colours (which are not standardised, by the way) get darker and muddier as a rule.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.