A time for everything

By turnx3

A new sighting!

Thursday
We got some jobs done in the morning, then since it was another fine very warm day, we got out for another kayak outing to Caesar Creek, at the inlet creek. Standing in the car park, you could barely detect a wind, but looking down the ramp at the water told a different story! There was a strong breeze coming off the main part of the lake. We were planning to paddle up stream, so we would be fighting against it coming back. However, we decided to give it a try. We were nearly back to our starting point, feeling rather disappointed at how few birds we’d seen, when I spotted some movement on a muddy sandbar in the middle of the stream. I went a bit closer, and managed to get a few shots, though it was a bit of a struggle, as the wind kept pushing the kayak around, so I’d have to keep adjusting my position, and some of the shots came out a bit blurred. However, I was quite pleased as it was a new bird for me, and after my own research, plus confirmation from the Cincinnati Birders Facebook page, my identification is a Greater Yellowlegs. The last stretch was indeed a bit of a struggle against the wind - you had to keep paddling, or otherwise the wind would push you back! However, we finally made it!
By the time we got home, there was just time for a cup of tea and a snack before going out again to handbell practice and choir. So it was a late dinner when we returned home afterwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.