An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Celebration ready...

I am not sure if there's been a recent festival in Berwick upon Tweed or if the town in gearing up for the Coronation, but Marygate was certainly looking very festive.

Oh dear, I had a much slower start to the day than I had planned.  Thankfully it didn't hold David and Lola back and they were up and out into the beautiful sunshine for a long walk in the surrounding countryside.  It really is wonderfully peaceful here.

After lunch we headed to the coast as we both felt the longing for a sea breeze.  

We've only been to Berwick once before.  We stopped on our way back from a holiday in Northumberland in October 2003 (jeez, I've just realised that was 20 years ago!!  Alan was only 7!)  Despite only stopping in the town for a couple of hours I could still remember where we parked and where we walked, including the little lane we cut through to get from Marygate down to Bridge Street.  David, who has a memory like a gold fish, couldn't even remember ever being there and was astounded as I was pointing things out to him and directing him where to go.  Sometimes I surprise myself!  :-)

Sadly by the time we we were out and about the sun had long gone and it was very grey.  We stumbled upon an ice cream van and had to have an obligatory ice cream...with a flake of course.  The poor girl serving was frozen as she had to keep the large serving hatch on the van open to let passers by (of which there was only us) know she was open for business.

We sat in the warmth of the car to eat it, looking out at a very grey and cold  North Sea, working out where we would end up (apart from dead! :-) if we waded into the water and swam in a straight line till we reached land.  Denmark incase you're interested :-)  It was just as we reached this conclusion that my flake fell out of my ice cream tub and into my open handbag at me feet *rolls eyes*

Carried on up the coast (lots of cheering as we crossed the border back into Scotland :-) stopping at Burnmouth.  Followed the narrow road down to Burnmouth Harbour.  Lots of quirky little houses and more views onto the cold North Sea.  

Back to the cottage for coffee and some crochet (it's all rock n roll :-) but within 10 minutes of sitting down, we were both snoozing!  I think the sea air knocked us out.   

An evening of murder-mystery tv.  Sometimes that's just what's needed :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.