Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Weed Eater

When Hubs and I went out to dinner last night, we drove past some Canada Geese with young which reminded me that I've not gotten gosling pictures in several years.  So this afternoon I put the Sigma lens on the Nikon Z and off I went, in search of goslings.  I went to a location that is usually reliable and after some hunting around I found a family with 5 goslings. I spent an enjoyable bit of time crouched in the grass firing off shots. Then as I was heading back to my car I spotted another family with 4 young. The goslings were all backlit which I normally don't like, but I decided since I was putting the camera through its paces, I'd give it a try.  Something about this image just really appealed to me - the combo of the yellow dandelion being gobbled down and the rim lighting seems to work.  

I also saw three species of frog including several bullfrogs.  I was able to get an eye-level, head on shot of the largest of the bullfrogs which I will put in Extra.  

I started putting some things in my suitcase for the trip.  I will bring the camera bag downstairs in the morning so that I can pack all my gear into it when I'm done shooting tomorrow.  I have to leave here at about 5:30 in the morning on Weds so all packing needs to be finished tomorrow night.

I heard a Great Crested Flycatcher in the woods today - the first of the season.  Also heard an oriole although I never spotted it.  I'm hopeful that I will be able to catch some migrants here tomorrow, but we'll see.

Dark with almonds and sea salt today.

xo
Debbi

One more thing - while I was posting this I heard a sickening this in the window and saw a female red bellied woodpecker down on the deck. I ran to the garage and grabbed my rescue box and then scooped her up and put her in it and put the box in a quiet spot. I honestly expected her to be dead when I checked on her a half hour later, but she appeared fully recovered and flew out of the box the minute I opened it. Happy ending

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.