A Day Worth Recording

By Cheeseminer

Aldyth

I initially wandered up the road to blip the large worrying-looking machine that's going to be eating our roads over the next few days. That didn't prove especially interesting but it was parked outside the small cemetery at the junction.

I realised that I don't think I've ever been into the cemetery despite living here for decades, so I had a look round. This wooden cross, in memory of Aldyth, wife of Charles Hore, dates from 1939.

I quite like the name Aldyth. Not one you hear these days.

I think if I wanted a head'stone' I'd love a wooden one like his - and the design is beautifully simple. Someone obviously went to a lot of trouble to pick a quality piece of timber for it to last this long. My guess would be either oak or cedar.

--
Stretching the boundary ever so slightly, I'm adding this to the Trumpington High Street series in One Street. (Previously in this series...)

--
In other news... I've just been eaten by a cat.

Hearing odd noises in the house which was supposed to be empty bar myself I went to see. Quite expected a cat as this has happened before. Having grabbed hold of same and heading for the door it managed to engage its teeth in my arm. I am not impressed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.