Studio today

... and a bit more playing :) - Watercolour sketch on the right done while on holiday in Northumberland and a mono-print on the left with the studio yard beyond.

I was too tired to write much last night - often the case for me as I'm not an evening person :( - so I'm adding a few further thoughts below.

The mono-print on the left is one of a series of six I worked on during the day. I'd call them mono-print sketches rather than finished works as I felt I was experimenting with the marks I could produce with the rollers - especially the thinnest roller which if I used it on edge I could create lines and different marks. The final image was much more abstracted than the others with the lines suggesting a road disappearing into the distance. I think this might be my starting point next week. I also love some of the effects where the sky meets the sea and the marks on the beach.

I've not worked with this range of colours when printing before so I was also experimenting with colour mixing. The original watercolour sketch meant I was responding to the colours much more directly rather than remembering them through a photograph (which never captures the full range and subtlety of colour).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.