... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Goosle Goslings: Goosle and a Gosling

Fluffier in large ("L").
This gosling is framed by its father.

Hum, my picture shows its downy beauty and absolute adorableness, but it also shows some fishing nylon... Look around its left leg.
It is not stuck! It stepped into and out of the loop without getting tangled, but the situation is not good. The fishing season opened yesterday...

Argh.

Today really got to me: the fishers on Eagle Pond had an aggressive barny with a dog owner whose dog splashed into the pond several times (chasing birds, including the Goosles: Mr. Goosle ran right into me as he was distractedly staring at the dog...). The fishers said his dog was out of control (it was) and that it had ruined "days' worth of baiting"; the dog owner said, "It was the dog's decision; I didn't throw it in!". Pathetic: if it is your dog, it is meant to be under your control. Some of the fishers swaggered up to him all macho and swearing: they all puffed up their chests and had a good shout at each other. It was awful.

The Goosles were (relatively) safely in the water so I left Eagle Pond to check on the Long Pond mallardlings. I arrived to a peaceful scene (all 10 ducklings correct and accounted for!), but as I was photographing them, a man appeared with 2 "Staffy" (Staffordshire Bull Terrier) type dogs and let them run wild. He sat with his shirt off and his legs in the water, a plastic bag (and belly) full of booze, and his two dogs chasing all the birds both on land and in the water. One of the Egyptian geese ended up damaging many of its feathers in its rush to flap away time and time again.
I phoned the Lambeth Council "Parks and Green Spaces" department: the first time they hung up on me (unintentionally, I believe) and the second time they left me on hold for 10 minutes after saying "just a sec." so I had to hang up (I was meeting my brother for coffee...). I left a message on the park warden's mobile phone, but have received no response.

I feel powerless: there are rules and regulations that are meant to protect these places and wildlife from this kind of abuse, and yet there seems to be no enforcement. The fishers are meant to be self-regulated by "water bailiffs" yet they seem to be as disinterested as the rest of the fishers, and the council seem unobtainable, uninterested, and incompetent. I'm sorry to be so frank, but after being told by the office that they didn't know who to speak to (I had to suggest the park warden, but they couldn't contact him either), and then being hung up on and left on hold, it certainly doesn't seem like a well-oiled machine...

p.s. I have now sent a long and detailed email to Lambeth Council expressing my concerns (clearly and politely); I will let you know if I receive a response.
p.p.s. I've just noticed that I took this on a D800, at 1/400", at 200mm, on ISO100.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.