LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Basement Steak Out

We went for our Groupon steak dinner at Basement tonight. Initial apprehensions regarding the amount of attention the waiter was paying us (not much, got our starters wrong) were gradually allayed and by the time the steak came they were completely gone. Rump is not something I would normally have, we tend to go for rib-eye or sirloin, and I am not very confident cooking it myself. The chef at Basement clearly is confident cooking it though and despite having asked for differently cooked steaks they both looked pretty similar and we both thoroughly enjoyed them They were tasty, juicy and very thick which surprised me, and prompted a somewhat lewd and slightly too loud discussion about girth, especially after Jen estimated their weight at 12oz and they turned out to be 7oz and her sze estimation skills were brought into doubt. The chips were very nice despite not being what I would call shoestring, but then I 'm not a big fan of shoestring chips so was pleased they didn't meet the description. The wine? It was alcoholic and we had a white for starters and a red with the steak, malbec I think, and both were adequate especially at the price. Bottom line, I'd go again and pay full price quite happily, which would be around £20 a head for the food.

As it was our last night before Jen headed back down to the big city for another 10 days I stayed up far later than I should and I drank far more than I should but hey, what are friends for?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.