An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Homemade...

Mega Oat Cookies :)

My best pal Agnes is coming up this evening (as is her hubby Adrian, daughter Emily and Eleanor and Kenny) and I remembered the other day that when we were little, her gran used to make us the most fantastic oat cookies with butter and golden syrup.

Found a recipe and though I'd give it a go in Grannie Martin's memory. Oh boy, they are as good as I remember. had to try out a couple just to be sure :) I hope Agnes agrees :) Next weekend's cooking adventure will be Empire biscuits for my friend Gail who I'm seeing next Saturday :)

So, a busy day here. As well as the cookies I have a chicken Marengo cooking in the simmering oven. Never made that before either so my poor guests are being experimented on big style. If it's a disaster there's always the chippy.

David's been Taking all the empty boxes from the games room to the tip and Alan's been out with Eddie and has had his holiday haircut. It's only now I see him with it cut I realise how long it was!

Just got to iron myself something to wear this evening (knew I should have ironed earlier in the week!) then time to get ready before everyone arrives. They're all staying over so it might be a late one :-0

Happy Saturday Blip Pals xxx

Oat Cookies

6 oz SR flour
3 oz porridge oats
6 oz granulated sugar
1 tsp bicarb of soda
1 tsp baking powder
6 oz butter
2 level tbsp golden syrup

Two baking sheets greased. Oven temp 170 degrees Makes 12 cookies

Put all the dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl.
Melt the butter and the golden syrup over a low heat till melted and combined.
Pour over dry ingredients and mix till combined.
Turn onto a work surface and divide into 12 pieces then shape into balls, each about an inch in diameter.
Arrange on the baking sheets (not too close together as they spread and double their size). Press the balls to flatten a little.
Bake in the middle of a pre-heated oven for 10 mins.

Mine took 10 mins exactly but the recipe says 10 - 14 mins. Keep and eye on them though as they burn easily. Leave on tray for 5 minutes to cool then transfer toa wire tray to get fully cold.

Boil kettle, make tea, eat and enjoy :))




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.