michigan man

By outdoorguy

Poppy is Home, and the Poppies are Popping

We got released from the hospital at 6 p.m., and were home at 6:30. 

I had mixed feeling about coming home. While it was nice to be monitored for two straight nights and receive IV antibiotics, I also find that while you do rest...it is not a good place to actually sleep.

I got a new roommate this morning at 12:15 a.m., and the poor guy (Don) had a broken femur. I heard the nurse say..."Yeah, I can see it sticking out there." After several go-rounds with pain meds, he started swearing, and not under his breath. At 5, they tried to move him, and the screams MUST have woken up several rooms. He kept apologizing to me, but...so much for sleep. He finally had a 4 hour surgery at 9 a.m., and looked pretty good this afternoon...according to Nurse Lisa. But, I was still concerned about how tonight would go.

So for me, it is 12 days of double antibiotics, a soft diet, and a hope to sleep. After 2 months, a colonoscopy and perhaps surgery

Like my friend Cindy said, "There's no place like home."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.