monochrome

By monochrome

Hume-orous!

Although I am a Software Engineer by profession, my degree was actually a combined honours in Computer Science and Philosophy, as part of which I studied the work of David Hume for a full semester (15 weeks). Although I can't remember the finer details of his work, I quite enjoyed his "An Enquiry concerning Human Understanding" and the fact that he was more of an atheist than the other philosophers we had studied (Descartes for instance) made me like him even more. In saying that, I couldn't help but chuckle to myself when I passed his statue on the Royal Mile this morning.

Is it wrong to still find the cone-on-statues-head thing funny? Is the cone on the statue's head at all? Does the statue exist in the first place? Can I even be sure I exist? Of course - Cogito ergo sum!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.