Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Corella Totem Pole

I had a bit of a hard choice for blippery today. I snapped a swallow at the station before work (though not on the wing; I had a cunning plan to clickclickclick as the train came in and the bird alit from the wire - but it was faster than my shutter), and after a meeting at Nepean I snapped this lovely lorikeet, using up the last dregs of my camera battery in the process. After work I used my iPhone to snap a few pics of the truly gorgeous evening sky (six pics; go back from the linked one).

Any of those would have made me happy as a blip; I found it particularly hard to go past the lorikeet, as I adore them so much. This, however, just grabbed me as something different: as I was walking from the station towards Nepean Hospital this morning I looked up and noticed these corellas, looking for all the world like they were standing on each other's heads like a totem pole on top of the telegraph pole. The illusion disappeared as I walked forward, which I did for a few metres before I realised I should really photograph them, so I went back, waited for the train-load of school kids to pass, and started snapping.

A nice-seeming woman stopped and commented on the birds; I think she's the same woman with whom I previously had a brief conversation about the lorikeets in the grounds of the hospital - she told me there were heaps of them in a tree by the rehab. I should've asked where the rehab is, as I don't know where to find that tree.

Here it is larger.

No Sindbad for the kids today; we read one of the books I brought home for them: 'Hairy Nose, Itchy Butt". - Which quite predictably was a bit of a hit. The others were a book of jokes (also a hit), and a "Fart-ionary" which produced quite some amazement and hilarity.

It's getting cold; fire's not on; electric blankets are on; imma curl up in the warm and watch QI +/- Dr Who.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.