Sea Urchin

By seaurchin

Yesterday we drove down from Scotland to Kent where we stayed overnight with my Mum. Fran and India popped by to say hello, which was lovely.

We were all up early this morning. I thought Mum would never get in the car as she kept remembering things she hadn't done or forgotten to pack. Finally we were on our way and the knot of excitement in my chest seemed to swell as we drove into Dover. We managed to hook up with Kards, Melody and Louis in the queue for the Ferry and our party of eight was complete.

We drove all day. As we approached Besançon all the anticipation melted into a feeling of coming home. I couldn't help smiling, a smile that reached right down inside of me. We arrived in Mouthier Haute Pierre well after 10pm, tired but elated. The gite is perfect, sitting above the village, with plenty of space for everyone.

As we prepared for bed we realised that none of the beds had been made up for us. Mum and I ventured forth into the village to see if we could find the Proprieteur. Only one house above us had lights on so we knocked on the door. When we explained the situation to the lady, she very kindly gave us linen for everyone. Beds finally made, we crashed for the night. I think we were all asleep before our heads hit our pillows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.