MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Christmas In August

I've always been interested in birds but am not a birder. I've paid more attention since I bought a lens suitable for birding last Christmas. My swimming buddy, an accomplished birder and bird photographer, warned me that midsummer is a lean time. Birders tend to switch to butterflies in July and August. The birds are shy and retiring while they are moulting.

Koko posted a pic of a robin yesterday and I saw one on my lawn for the first time in ages this morning. Weird how she shoots a subject and I follow soon afterwards. Maybe she lives south of Essex?

This one was making a 'tick-tick' sound, a bit like a wren but burst into song soon after I had togged it. The evening light was quite nice, even though it wasn't illuminating the bird. A robin on a Christmas tree, all I need is a few flakes of snow for a Christmas card. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.