Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Very, Very Early

Last night I tossed and turned. I think I only got a couple of hours sleep, if that! I decided that if I didn't fall asleep before dawn I would get up and go down to the lake.

I used to love being out early with the camera but all the recent excuses came into my mind as I lay in bed this morning.

It's too dark. The light is flat. It might rain. The lay-bys may be full of campervans. It might be cold. Nevertheless, I got up, had some porridge, looked for the flask and was out by 5.30am.

As I started to drop down to the lake I could see that the valley was filled with mist. It was disappearing rapidly by the time I got to Glencoyne Bay. I had intended moving on to the car park but I could see a big group of young folk on the shore.

I was busy taking shot down the lake looking towards Glenridding when I turned around and saw a bright red rising sun and its reflection in the water. While I waited the clouds and the water turned pink. Just as quickly the colour went and the calm water was covered in ripples.

I knew what to do at times like this. I poured out my cup of tea. Vanilla-flavoured Early Grey!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.