Pat's Kitchen

Today was book club. The Palette Princesses and friends met at Pat's house to discuss the book (for a very brief time) and hang out together (for much longer.) There were thirteen of us today. We were missing one princess but had three guests along. Helena came with me and Helen brought her daughter and partner. We had a really great time together talking about all manner of things and eating a delicious lunch.

I took this photo of Pat's kitchen with all the food dishes full of goodies we all brought. Look more closely at the reflections. I used the in camera "watercolor" filter in my Sony RX100 to get the effect you see here.

Thanks to "LocalFoodLover" here on Blip, my contribution to the lunch were Trader Joe's mini croissants. They are delicious and so easy to make. You get them in the freezer section. I cut them in two last night after they thawed but before they rose over night. I baked them this morning. That way I had sixteen tiny croissant halves to share. They were cute and delicious.

Now I'm relaxing. Tomorrow will be a big day. It is the Bellingham Plein Air Paint Out or PAPO, and there will be a bunch of painters in the downtown area painting. I'll be there and most of the Palette Princesses will also be there. If you live in or near Bellingham, WA, it would be a good time to visit Holly Street and other areas right around the core of the city. You can see us all in action. The weather is supposed to be good and I'm happy about that. I've already got my little pochade box and tripod ready to go tomorrow. I'll be painting in oils.

All the paintings we are doing are 8 by 10 inches in size. At the end of the day we will be dropping them off at a gallery on Holly called "Mindport" where they will be allowed to dry and then get matching frames from "Fourth Corner Frames" another business on Holly. There will be a show of all the work at Mindport in September. This is the third year that all the paintings will be the same size and done in the course of one day outside. The last two shows were fantastic and I expect this one will be two.

I would love to see some of you stop by as I paint down town. I expect to get going around ten in the morning. The paintings are due at Mindport by 5 pm. I don't know yet where I"ll be painting. I like to decide that on the day. If you come, stop by and say hello. And be sure to walk around and meet some of the other painters. Hope to see you tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.