Andrew's Random Photos

By andrewhiggins

Artist Alan Ross

A day spent visiting artists taking part in Herefordshire Art Week, on the first day of the week long event. When I first came to the county, I was a little disappointed to find apparently so little art scene going on. But Art Week has 118 artists and venues taking part, so I was wrong, and I'm looking forward to getting around a good few in the next week.
This is Alan Ross, who makes fantastic sculptures in steel, at his workshop studio in Caplor, near Fownhope, just down the road from me. He was a fascinating character, who discovered how much he liked working in metal while doing a one day course 13 years ago. Then 7 years ago he gave up a steady job to pursue his dream of becoming a full time artist.
I really liked his deceptively simple art works, the kind of work which hides great skill but shows great imagination. You can see some of his work at www.artinsteel.co.uk, or go see him, and try a cup of great cider he is offering visitors too.
The art week website is www.h-art.org.uk

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.