In Today's Views...

By LovePopcorn

Ceramic Class Trimming Foot

This is Wheel Piece #8. I am learning how to trim the "foot" of my pieces.
This is also my first time using the kick wheel since all the electric ones were being used.
I think I prefer the kick wheel now that I've used it - it's easier to control the wheel speed.
There is a specific way to place the three pieces of clay around whatever piece you are trimming to prevent accidental nicks when you remove them after trimming. You press the outer edges into the wheel first, then gently nudge it against the piece to trim.
After we went through all the trimming steps, I re-impressed the indentation lines. Last week I had forgotten to make them and had removed WP #8 to a wooden drying board. I foolishly thought I could still make the impressions by just rotating the board on the wheel, but the lines were off-kilter. Won't do that again!
FINALLY made WP #9 after two failed attempts and some advice from Ginny.

people: Mike, Naoko O, Ginny, Ray, Billie, Norm, Debbie, Chiyomi
places: ECC (Mount Hope), Miramar Road Business Area, City Heights
particulars: dropped H2O bottle on WP#9 - repaired it, but not as good

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.