Seeing through (add 'it' where you please)

A year and a day after my paean to the NHS the sparkle has tarnished somewhat. Even the nurse who saw me today was shocked at how long it’s taken to get my follow-up appointment. I chased in April and the July appointment I was given was cancelled for ‘reasons beyond our control’ (while the cynic in me noted that targets require patients to be offered an appointment within three months, but not that it should be kept). It seems that my notes have been irretrievably ‘archived’ but since at least I can remember who I am and what the problem is that’s not a disaster. (It’s a cataract. I self-diagnosed two years ago and they seem to believe me which is slightly disarming. Perhaps I should be applying for NHS jobs.) Anyway, I’m pleased that I’m back in the system and that I should get another chance to admire this stairwell in six weeks’ time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.