GREAT NORTH RUN - all over for another year

Neil and I set off for The Great North run at about 9am. We needed to be in Newcastle but the bus only went as far as Gateshead. I decided to get another bus over the river but Neil thought the Metro was a better bet. It wasn't. They were " chokka ". No chance of getting on so he walked over to Newcastle. He actually got there before me as my bus had to go on a detour because the normal route over the Tyne Bridge was closed.

We met up at the bus station and then made our way to the Start area. Colourful scenes with lots of runners in fancy dress. I liked these YOUNG LADS - they were wearing underpants - and nothing else - with the words TOON ARMY on the back. I bet they were freezing cold.

I took this shot of Neil before he went to his starting position. I was amused by the chap on the right - think he was " adjusting his tail".

The run started at 10.40am and it was about 11.20 am when the tail enders crossed the start line. These TWO SUNDERLAND SUPPORTERS were the last to leave.

Being at the start brought back memories of the times I watched my late husband Douglas take part in the Great North Run. He did it quite a few times - the last one was in 2000. In 2001 we both went to watch Neil start in his first one. It was quite emotional being there today.

When all the runners had passed I made my way to Waitrose and then home on the bus. I got back into the house around 1.15pm.

Neil arrived back at 3.15pm. HE didn't look too different from how he looked at the start. His time was 1 hour 45 mins. A good time but not a PB ( personal best ). He was 6,059th out of over 50,000 runners. He was raising money for McMillan Cancer Care. He struggled for most of the way - not helped by the weather which was terrible - cold, windy and wet.

Since he got home he has just relaxed and eaten as much food as he could get his hands on. He's a glutton for punishment though and he has already entered for the Budapest marathon which is next month.

Just had a phone call from my daughter -- she was speaking from Paddington Railway Station. She and her husband will soon be departing on the sleeper train to Penzance. They are going Glamping ( Glamorous Camping - apparently ).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.