... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Dachshund Puppy

Blip for C.D.
More endearing enlarged.

Meet George; he is a 4 month old "Silver Dapple" Dachshund puppy, and I imagine that his owner finds it rather hard to get from A to B with this little super-powered people magnet at his feet.
I was at Queen Square killing time (photographing wet pigeons...) when George appeared and livened up my photo session! He was very boisterous and totally adorable (and that really is saying something as I rarely like dogs...!). I was hooked and felt rather irritated that I didn't have longer to kill as I could have photographed him for aeons... The light was very strange: it was only hitting one corner of the square and was extremely contrasty as the square was otherwise very dark. The grass was soaked (by a recent shower) and its wetness made it reflect the light all the more strongly... It was fun, and made for rather dramatic photos: silhouettes (or high-key blown out shots) in one direction, and contrasty, crisp shops in the other. This was sideways on to the light which was a fairly easy direction in which to shoot.

The chap walking him was very friendly and we chatted about George and the attention that he receives; I had to dash off, but he gave me his email address and asked me to send some pics if I didn't mind (I don't, and will!). It is unlike me to photograph dogs and strike up conversation with a dog owner, but I really enjoyed the experience.
I've put up two alternatives:
High-key George (in mono)
Contrasty George
Which would you have chosen? I chose my blip as it showed his dappled coat better than the other contenders...

p.s. I was at Queen Square having my six-month review after the neurology appointment and MRI (earlier this year); I'd already had the results (so wasn't expecting any news today) and the treatment plan has been effective so I've now got the all clear (or all explained anyway!) and am discharged which was what I imagined would happen today, but it feels like a relief nonetheless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.