Everyday Magic

I awoke on Friday to a morning that was gloriously foggy, just perfect for photos. As I made my drive to work, the sun began to rise through the fog, transforming mist into magic.

I admit that I am a girl easily distracted by such things. And so I made several lightning-quick stops on this morning to enjoy the fog. My first stop was along a side road by a farmer's field, where the mist transformed the cows into something much more than cows in the morning sun.

My second stop was a little pond I've visited many times before, that's been featured on these pages. You've seen it decked out in October's colors (here and here). And wearing its first November snow. And the little boat that graces its surface (sometimes tethered to the dock, other times drifting on the pond).

As I arrived, the sun had just crested the trees and was starting to break through the fog. The spiders had been busy overnight, stringing strands of lace from every branch, every twig, every weed. It's this sort of beauty that we sometimes take for granted: the gentle loveliness of a sweet mid-September morning, softened by the mist and decorated with dew.

I will be leaving on Saturday for a quick trip to Atlantic City with my oldest sister. And I admit my thoughts had turned to the beach and all of its delights. Oh, the adventures we will have there! For is there anything more fun than the beach, and sister time?

But in my heart and in my memory, whether I travel far or travel near: I carry this with me and it will be my talisman . . . the everyday magic that is my home.

The song: Queen, A Kind of Magic, starring the fantastic and sorely missed Freddie Mercury.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.